For those out there who didn’t know, I submitted two stories to the ‘Greenhouse Funny Prize’, a literary competition for new and unagented writers from the UK. The shortlist was announced today, and neither entry made the cut.

Am I disappointed? Only slightly: there were over 720 entries, so competition was tough. Plus, one of my stories was a madly-redrafted second draft after my betas tore the original a new one weeks before the deadline. And the other was a fantasy that only contained comical moments, so it stupid even less of a chance. But you don’t get anywhere if you don’t put your work out there!

My best wishes to all shortlisted entries!

Does this mean the end of my attempt at a professional writing career? Well, yes and no…

It’s the end of my attempt to be a funny writer – at least for the foreseeable future. Sure, I enjoy a good laugh, and making others laugh, but in trying to actually write something funny, I’ve spent more time staring at blank pages than with any other genre. It’s HARD.

So, I’m sticking to what I know – paranormal adventure! Don’t worry, there’s no angsty vampires pining over socially stunted wretches (seriously, though, if you were nigh-immortal, and as ‘gorgeous’ as Edward is supposed to be, why in the blue hells would you wait all your life for a plain, emotionless emo? Think it through, vamps…) – no, we’re talking good, old-fashioned paranormal investigation stories. Because, let’s be honest, there’s more to paranormal than vampires and werewolves… So much more. Some more disturbingly human than you know.

More on that at another time,

Dave

